Members of the Auckland Centre for Financial Research are elected based on the quality of their recent academic research output and membership is only continued if the appropriate level of research performance is maintained. This ensures that the quality of the work conducted by the members of the Centre is at the highest level.

Senior Fellows:

Dr Adrian Fernandez-Perez, PhD
Dr Fernandez-Perez's holds a PhD degree from the University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. His research expertise is in Financial Econometrics, Computational Economic, Fixed Income and Commodities.

Professor Bart Frijns, PhD, FRM, SF Fin, INFINZ
Prof. Frijns’ (PhD – Maastricht University, the Netherlands) research expertise is in Empirical Finance and Applied Financial Econometrics, which he has applied in the areas of market microstructure, volatility modelling, etc. Dr Frijns is a certified Financial Risk Manager by the Global Association of Risk Professionals (GARP).

Dr Jose Da Fonseca, PhD
Dr Da Fonseca's (PhD - University Claude Bernard Lyon I, France) research has a strong quantitative focus and deals with issues around the pricing of derivative products and risk management.

Dr Saten Kumar, PhD 
Dr Kumar holds a PhD degree from the Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand. His expertise is in the area of Time Series and Panel Data Analysis.

Professor Nhut (Nick) Nguyen, PhD
Dr Nguyen’s (PhD – Massey University) research interests cover corporate governance, market microstructure, market liquidity, and behavioral finance.

Professor Alireza Tourani-Rad , PhD, F FIN
Prof. Tourani-Rad (PhD – Free University of Brussels, Belgium) is the Chair of the Department of Finance at AUT University and is member of the Australian-New Zealand Shadow Financial Regulatory Committee. Prof. Tourani-Rad’s research expertise is in the area of Corporate Finance, Investments and Financial Markets and ranks among the top 2% of finance academics worldwide.


Dr Ihsan Badshah, PhD
Dr Badshah holds a PhD degree from Hanken School of Economics, Finland. His areas of research include empirical asset pricing, financial market integration, market microstructure, derivatives and emerging markets.

Dr Olga Dodd, PhD
Dr Dodd holds a PhD degree from Durham University, United Kingdom. Her expertise is in the area of International Finance and Empirical Corporate Finance

Dr Ivan Indriawan, PhD
Dr Indriawan holds a PhD degree from Auckland University of Technology.  His expertise focuses on macroeconomic news announcements and underlying market microstructure theory that drives prices of stocks listed in multiple markets.

Dr Peiming Wang, PhD
Dr Wang holds a PhD degree from the University of British Colombia, Canada. His expertise is in the area of Risk Management and Applied Econometrics.

Honorary Fellow:

Professor Robert I. Webb, PhD
Prof. Webb is the Paul Tudor Jones II Research Professor at the McIntire School of Commerce at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, USA. Prof. Webb holds a PhD from the University of Chicago and has extensive industry experience in futures markets. Prof. Webb is the editor of the Journal of Futures Markets.

Associate Fellows:

Professor Sugato Chakravarti, PhD
Prof. Chakravarti is with the Department of Consumer Science at Purdue University, US. He holds a doctorate from Indiana University. Prof. Chakravarti’s research interests are in the areas of Investments; Asset Pricing; Stock, Bond, and Options Markets; Market Microstructure; International Finance; Small Business Finance; Banking Relationships; Corporate Finance; Household Behavior and Family Economics related to Investments and Retirement.

Professor James W Kolari, PhD
Professor Kolari is from the Mays Business School, Texas A & M University where he has taught financial markets and institutions since earning his PhD in 1980. He has published over 90 refereed articles, 10 co-authored books and numerous monographs.

Professor Thorsten Lehnert, PhD
Prof. Lehnert is with the Luxembourg School of Finance (LSF) at the University of Luxembourg and holds a PhD in Finance from Maastricht University in the Netherlands. Prof. Lehnert is the Co-head of the Doctoral School of Economics and Finance at the LSF. His research interests are in the area of volatility modelling and option pricing.

Professor Qian Sun, PhD
Professor Sun is the head of the Department of Finance at Fudan University, China. Prof. Sun has a PhD from Arizona State University, US, and has an extensive publication record in the area of Corporate Finance and Investments.

Dr Remco Zwinkels, PhD
Dr Zwinkels is an Associate Professor at the Free university Amsterdam, the Netherlands and has a doctorate from the Radboud University, the Netherlands. Dr. Zwinkels’ research expertise is in the area of Heterogeneous Agent Modelling and Behavioural Finance.

Postdoctoral Researcher:

Dr Fan John Zhang, PhD
John Fan Zhang obtained his PhD degree at Auckland University of Technology (AUT), with the thesis title “The financial impact of cultural diversity on multinational firms”, under supervision by Professor Bart Frijns and Professor Alireza Tourani-Rad.

Centre Coordinator:

Tracy Skolmen - administration, website, communications conferences and events.

PhD Students:

  • Chris Zhang - Market Microstructure
  • Shengze Xu - Empirical Corporate Finance